SHELACH (Numbers, 13:1-15:41) — “Ten Times One Equals Infinity”

 …  Why ask some strange rabbi to say Kaddish for my father when I can do it myself?!  This rabbi didn’t know and love my father the way I did.  Why should I let a stranger do what I should be doing?  So what if I can’t (read: won’t) go to Shul every morning?  Shouldn’t I be the one praying on behalf of my father?! 

…Take nine of any righteous people you can think of.  Let’s say, for example, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Moses, Aaron, David, Noah, and your Uncle Sidney.  No Minyan.  You can’t say Kaddish or any of several other communal prayers …  

Read more   

Additional messages from previous years:

Fringe Benefits (2010)

Around the Land in Eightyum, FORTY, Days  (2007)

Im Gonna Do What You Want … Whether You Like it or Not!” (2004)

What Was Moses Last Name?” (2002)                            

 

Published in: on June 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

