VAYECHI (Genesis, 47:28-50:26) — “Mama’s Tears”

 … For twenty years, Israel was a memory from my past, and a some-day hope for my future.  Finally, about five years ago, when my daughter was studying there, I had cause to go back for a short visit… One of my stops was Rachel’s Tomb, in Bethlehem… I wasn’t prepared for what met me inside…                   

Now, I am not what you would call a particularly emotional person.  What was it that caused me to react in that way?  There was nothing in my particular prayers that would normally have led me to cry.  So what was it? 

It was Rachel… 

Read more.

Additional messages from previous years: 

“A Grandfather’s Blessing” (2009)

“Any Maccabees Around Here?” or, “Father Knows Best” (2008) 

“Forgotten but not Forgiven?”  (2006) 

“Put on a Happy  🙂 Face!” (2003) 

“When Angels Came Early To Monsey” (2002) 

“Promises, Promises” (2001) 

“Kindness and Truth” (2000) 

Published in: on December 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

