VE’ ESCHANAN (Deuteronomy, 3:23-7:11) — “I Understand Exactly How You Feel”

 In my line of work as a rabbi, I find myself involved in lots of lifecycle events.  Since I am a chaplain for senior citizens, these events are, all too often, sad ones.

What does one say to a mourner who is sitting Shiva for a loved one?  Something I was taught early in my career was to never, but never, say, “I know how you feel.”

Because you don’t.  No one does…

I prepared to leave.  I offered them the traditional farewell to a mourner…

Then I paused.  “Today,” I said….”

 Read more.

 Additional messages from previous years: 

 “Thou Shalt Not Pray?!” (2007) 

“Do as I Say, Not as I Do!” (2005)

“Sheepskin or Cheapskin?” (2004) 

“Why are we Whispering?  What’s the Big Secret?” (2003) 

“Double Talk” (2002)

“The Devil Made Me Do It!” (2001)

Published in: on July 18, 2013 at 7:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

