Contribute to my efforts to help sick children with Bike4Chai

Last Spring my friend Mendy sent me an email, inviting me to sponsor him on a bike ride for Tzedakah.  Kupath Ezrah and Tomche Shabbos , two very important charitable organizations in our home town of Monsey, NY, would be the beneficiaries of this fundraising event.  Riders could choose between routes of 40, 50, or 60 miles, and were required to raise at least $750 in sponsorships.

So I made a donation to sponsor my friend’s ride.

Then I went out and bought a bike, joined him on the ride, and raised over $1000!  (So the bike paid for itself!)

As the oldest (and probably least experienced!) rider, I rode my 60 miles and crossed the finish line long after all the other riders (except one fellow who was kind enough to keep me company!) had gone home.

                         my friend mendy

My friend Mendy (back to the camera) and 3 rabbis!

                  finish line

                               The Finish Line!

Now I’ve decided to move up a bit.

This summer, I hope to bike 180 miles through 3 states to Camp Simcha, an extraordinary overnight camp that gives children with cancer a vacation from sickness that restores their spirits and renews their determination to fight!

The ride won’t be easy, but neither is life for a child with cancer or other serious illness. Camp Simcha and its sister camp, Camp Simcha Special, are Chai Lifeline’s flagship programs. Every year these two camps offer 420 children a chance to forget about illness and just be kids again (to learn more about the camps, visit www.campsimcha.org).

I will be biking to camp on Wednesday and Thursday August 3rd and 4th. My objective is to raise at least $10,000 by then and I hope you will help me reach this goal. I am already almost halfway there. All donations are 100% tax-deductible.

You can sponsor me in one of 2 ways.  You can send your check, payable to Chai Lifeline, to me, Rabbi Yerachmiel Seplowitz, 5 Glenmere Court, Monsey, NY 10952.  Or you can send your check directly to Chai Lifeline, ATTN: Bike4Chai, 100 Clifton Ave, Lakewood, NJ 08701.  Include a note that you are sponsoring my ride.  (Please send me an email (brisrabbi@gmail.com) to let me know you sent it, so I can make sure it gets properly credited.)

Next month, after registration officially opens for the ride, it will be possible to donate online.

Thank you for participating in this Mitzvah, and in doing so, helping children and their families cope with the diagnosis, treatment and aftermath of serious pediatric illness.

May you and yours always enjoy the best of health!
Best regards,

Rabbi Yerachmiel Seplowitz

PS For more info about the bike ride please visit www.bike4chai.com

 

Published in: on December 19, 2013 at 10:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

